Grupo Planeta


A prestige publishing backlist that is enriched with the discovery of new authors

Destino combines the prestige of a publishing backlist of renowned quality with the discovery of new authors. Founded in 1942, it became a part of Grupo Planeta in 1988.

From the very start it has published the most important Spanish writers of the second half of the 20th century: Camilo José Cela, Miguel Delibes, Juan Goytisolo and Josep Pla, among others. It has also contributed to the success of new generations of authors with the publication of works by, for example, Rosa Regàs, Rafael Argullol and Carme Riera. Foreign authors incorporated into the Destino catalogue prominently include Bohumil Hrabal, George Orwell, Doris Lessing and Naguib Mahfuz.

The Destino publishing backlist is constructed around such prestigious collections as Áncora y Delfín, whose catalogue contains titles by the most important Spanish and foreign writers, prominently including Nobel Literature Prize winner Camilo José Cela. The Imago Mundi collection features essays on subjects that range from the arts to philosophy, from literary theories to the analysis of power and also including scientific and historical topics. Among others, it has published the reflections of science communicator Eduardo Punset and of social role-model and author of ¡Indignaos!, Stéphane Hessel.

Every year since 1944, Destino has organised the Nadal Prize, the oldest and most prestigious literary accolade awarded to novels written in Spanish. Among the prize-winning works are essential novels of Spanish literature such as Nada, by Carmen Laforet, which won the prize in its first year. 

Since 1980 Destino has also organised the Apel·les Mestres prize for children’s and young people’s literature, which provides recognition for creative work in the world of illustrated books in Spain.