Grupo Planeta

Planeta Prize

Dissemination and recognition of Spanish authors

In 1952, the founder of Editorial Planeta and of Grupo Planeta, José Manuel Lara Hernández, established a prize for novels with prize money totalling 40,000 pesetas (240.40 euros) to recognise the value of authors writing in Spanish, encourage their social projection and put their name and their work before a wider public. The value of the prize today (600,000 euros for the winning prize and 150,000 for the runner-up) has made it the largest in the world for previously unpublished novels, while the winning and runner-up works are repeatedly positioned in the lists of best sellers.

The jury of the Planeta Prize has always been formed by academic scholars, chair professors, journalists, critics and prominent figures from the world of letters, which shows how highly demanding it is. Among the winners and runners-up are some of the most prominent authors of Spanish and Spanish-American novels, such as Nobel Prize for Literature winners Camilo José Cela and Mario Vargas Llosa, among many others.

The Planeta Prize continues to be an event that every 15 October arouses great literary, social and media expectation; and it remains faithful to is founding objective of raising the visibility of the winning authors and increasing society’s love of reading.

All information on the prize can be found at, along with the terms and conditions for participation.